Log in

Political Quick Notes

April 29, 2022 9:59 AM | WiAHC's Office
  • 2021-22 Legislative Session Recap: During the session that ended last month, 2,305 bills were introduced, 393 were passed by the Legislature, and 267 were signed into law by Gov. Evers. The governor also issued 126 vetoes, which sets the new record for most vetoes by a Wisconsin governor in a single session.
  • Wisconsin businessman Tim Michels recently announced his candidacy for Wisconsin governor, joining a crowded Republican primary for the state’s top elected position. Michels, who ran unsuccessfully for U.S. Senate in 2004, will face former Lt. Gov. Rebecca Kleefisch, businessman Kevin Nicholson, and current state Rep. Timothy Ramthun in the Aug. 9 primary.
  • Earlier this month, the Wisconsin Supreme Court adopted state legislative maps proposed by Republican legislative leaders, which was a reversal of the court’s earlier decision to accept maps submitted by Gov. Tony Evers. The reversal, which is likely to be the final decision on the state’s legislative maps for the next decade, came after the U.S. Supreme Court ordered Wisconsin’s high court to reconsider their earlier ruling.
  • The exodus of current state lawmakers from the WI Legislature continues, as Sen. Dale Kooyenga announced this week he will not seek reelection. Please find below a list of state legislators who won’t be seeking reelection this fall:
  • Wisconsin Senate:
    • Kathy Bernier (R-Chippewa Falls) – Retiring
    • Janet Bewley (D-Mason) – Retiring
    • Sen. Dale Kooyenga (R-Brookfield)
    • Jon Erpenbach (D-West Point) – Retiring
    • Jerry Petrowski (R-Marathon) – Retiring
    • Janis Ringhand (D-Evansville) – Retiring
    • Roger Roth (R-Appleton) – Running for Lt. Governor
  • Wisconsin Assembly:
    • David Bowen (D-Milwaukee) – Running for Lt. Governor
    • Rachel Cabral-Guevara (R-Appleton) – Running for state Senate
    • Gary Hebl (D-Sun Prairie) – Retiring
    • Dianne Hesselbein (D-Middleton) – Running for state Senate
    • Gordon Hintz (D-Oshkosh) – Retiring
    • Cody Horlacher (R-Mukwonago) – Running for Circuit Court Judge
    • Jesse James (R-Altoona) – Running for state Senate
    • Samantha Kerkman (R-Salem Lakes) – Elected as Kenosha County Executive
    • Mike Kuglitsch(R-New Berlin) – Retiring
    • Amy Loudenbeck(R-Clinton) – Running for WI Secretary of State
    • Beth Meyers (D-Bayfield) – Retiring
    • Nick Milroy (D-South Range) – Retiring
    • Sondy Pope (D-Mt. Horeb) – Retiring
    • Tim Ramthun (R-Campbellsport) – Running for Governor
    • Sara Rodriguez (D-Brookfield) – Running for Lt. Governor
    • Joe Sanfelippo (R-New Berlin) – Retiring
    • Ken Skowronski (R-Franklin) – Retiring
    • Mark Spreitzer (D-Beloit) – Running for state Senate
    • Jim Steineke (R-Kaukauna) – Retiring
    • Gary Tauchen (R-Bonduel) – Retiring
    • Jeremy Thiesfeldt (R-Fond du Lac) – Retiring
    • Tyler Vorpagel (R-Pymouth) – Retiring
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software